

## 第44回日本免疫学会学術集会

### クリニカルセミナー (Clinical Seminar)

#### 2015年11月20日(金)11:20~12:20 日時 札幌コンベンションセンター(B会場 中ホールA) 会場

# From Genotype to Phenotype



## 座長 坂 二志文先生

大阪大学免疫学フロンティア研究センター実験免疫学



## 演者) David A.Hafler,M.D

Departments of Neurogy and Immunobiology, Yeal School of Medicine

:日本免疫学会/ブリストル・マイヤーズ株式会社/小野薬品工業株式会社



### David A.Hafler, M.D

Departments of Neurogy and Immunobiology, Yeal School of Medicine

Dr. Hafler is the William S. and Lois Stiles Edgerly Professor and Chairman Department of Neurology, Yale School of Medicine and is the Neurologist-in-Chief of the Yale-New Haven Hospital. He graduated magna cum laude in 1974 from Emory University with combined B.S. and M.Sc. degrees in biochemistry, and the University of Miami School of Medicine in 1978. He then completed his internship in internal medicine at Johns Hopkins followed by a neurology residency at Cornell Medical Center-New York Hospital in New York. Dr. Hafler received training in immunology at the Rockefeller University and then at Harvard where he joined the faculty in 1984 where he was the incumbent of the Breakstone Professorship of Neurology at Harvard and was a founding Associated Member of the Broad Institute at MIT. In 2009 he move to Yale as the Chair of the Department of Neurology.

Dr. Hafler is a clinical scientist with a research interest in understanding the mechanism of multiple sclerosis with over 360 publications in the field of MS, autoimmunity and immunology. He is a founder of the International MS Genetic Consortium, a group formed to define the genetic causes of MS; his work was the first to identify the genes causing MS. Dr. Hafler has been elected to membership in the American Society of Clinical Investigation, the Alpha Omega Society, and was a Weaver Scholar of the NMSS. He is a member of the editorial boards for Journal of Clinical Investigation and the Journal of Experimental Medicine, and is co-founder of the Federation of Clinical Immunology Societies. Hafler leads the NIH Autoimmunity Prevention Center Grant at Yale, and is a Jacob Javits Merit Award Recipient from the NIH. He has won many awards including 2010 Dystel Prize for MS research from the American Academy of Neurology.